Posted on

The Sound of Silence – motivation between roles

Here I am, lucky enough to have the time today to write a blog post with little in the way of distraction – and it’s a little odd, that sound I am not used to – almost the unfortunate ability to have to much time to think. Headphones are in, music playing, and I know that if I were to take them out, there would be nothing, silence……that odd sound that I am not used to.

As an events manager, there is usually little time to think about anything – rushing from one thing to another, one event rolling in to the next – the lines become blurred between details that overlap, with one persons special ingredient someone else’s norm…..So how are we able to stay motivated between jobs, ensure that we are always on top form and giving 100% to everyone relying on us?

It is an odd for me to have the amount of time I have had these past few days, to myself. Not needing to wake an un ungodly hour, to work, and home, in the dark….Although it is always nice to have some RnR, I am not the best person at motivating myself to get done all of those things that stress me out when I am at work and complaining that I don’t have enough time for things. It is funny though, because at work, the mindset just changes, the switch flicks and suddenly everything seems to fall in to place.

Then, there is news you hear, that friends husbands are out of a job, that people have needed to take a step back from their own personal norms, in order to accommodate their current financial situations – people you know who are sick and with families that depend on them possibly about to lose a key member forever……and suddenly, in the blink of an eye everything once again shifts once more back in to perspective.

I am thankful for the opportunities that I have been given, the progression I have been able to carve out for myself from a very rough stone, and the future I hope to have both personally and professionally. With social media as it is today there is little chance of not being able to stay on top of what is going on in the world, and oddly, where work is concerned, you almost feel like the athlete who is injured and can’t work out – like you are on the sidelines and useless to the team…… I hope to use my time off now between roles to visit venues, people, think about how I will be able to make a real difference to the company I am about to join.

Sorry for getting a little off track. I think that at the end of the day it isn’t always possible to stay focused all the time, and if you do, there is a good chance that something important will pass you by that you were just “to busy” to see. People within the events world make sacrifices, and work every moment and more that they need to in order to make sure that their clients expectations are exceeded.

Maybe therefore, just sometimes, between roles, it is ok to lose that focus, breathe and refuel with all the enthusiasm and energy that you will need for when you have to start all over again.

If you do have a special motivational tool you use, share……

Leave a Reply

