Posted on

Take a chance on me – Carpe Diem

A day late I know, apologies. The thought today though, is a little poignant.

I am now between work roles, due to start a new and exciting challenge next week, and in the meantime reflecting on where I am and how I got here.

The fact is this. I can not deny that had someone not taken a chance on me nearly ten years ago, there is no way that I would be where I am today. Whilst firmly believing that everyone needs that little bit of luck to go their way if they are to succeed, there is equally no doubt that having been given that opportunity to shine, only you can then take it to the next level through hard work and dedication. There are people out there who will see something in you, that makes them think you have what it takes to make a difference and be someone, they put themselves on the line to speak up for you – and if you are lucky enough to be given that chance, you will always be able to then look back and pinpoint the origins of your road to your success.

I know who that person was for me, and what debt I owe them.

My girlfriend, Sarah, told me something recently which is very true. In the event that you are successful in getting a new job, the job you want – those people employing you have bought in to you – they believe in you and your ability to exceed within the role you will be taking on.

The trick therefore, is to believe in yourself. At that point, everything makes sense.

2 responses to “Take a chance on me – Carpe Diem

  1. Angela ⋅

    Aron, congratulations on day one (!) & all the best in your new role.
    I’ve been following your adventure, quite literally; and as an ‘inbetweener’ making good of a career downtime, I appreciate your insight.

Leave a Reply

