Posted on

Success comes in Cans

Does it sound odd to say, but I can’t actually remember what I learnt at school

Of course, current life circumstances and knowledge would imply that it was “something”, but I just can not put my finger on the real crux of what school meant for me other than something that was fun at the time, annoying in equal measure – but a period in my life I wish I had had the patience and a touch more maturity to approach differently.

Funny thing, hindsight.

Anyway, digressing as frequent readers will know I can do – one of the things I do remember about school was my first year form class, 1DW, and how on the wall there was a poster, two in fact, whose slogans for some reason have stayed with me all these years, and although the type of thing that could be used as part of any motivational jargon baloney we hear so much of…tend to be just that, for me internally and on the occasions when I can’t see the wood from the trees.

The first,

“It is easier to climb downhill than uphill, but the view is from the top”

and the second,

“Success comes in cans, not in cant’s”

It’s really odd actually, thinking about this now, and trying to figure out just why these particular rallying cries have stuck with me. I was based in that class for only a short time in any given day, and there were many posters on the walls – and if I am truthful, I think that the resonate with me in this way due to both what I do now, and who I am now as a person.

The events world can be a little unforgiving. There never seem to be enough hours in the day, and that same day can go from being one which is manageable, to then something a whole lot more tricky to handle. There are those days on which you return home, unable to detach and sometimes not wanting to talk – become the complete opposite of the very persona you are for everyone else during that work day (after all, hardest for comedians is to just “say something funny”)

Sometimes it is just, hard

And yet, within the blink of an eye, and usually at a point when one of several different things happens – maybe you remember the fun night you had, or are going to have – a loved one just puts their arms around you and draws you close, or maybe just the moment you laugh and the invisible tension is broken….but something clicks and you remind yourself just how good you are at what you do, and that the success is yours for the taking if you want it.

I don’t know how much I really believe in the “Positive Mental Attitude” malarkey – although I know I am each in there own right at one point in every day, but whilst remembering that I didn’t always work in the hospitality industry and have worked my way to where I am with zero in the way of traditional hotel education, there is something to be said for both believing in yourself, and always having a spare can of “I can” around for when you may need it.

I would love to hear both your “I can” moments, and how you jolt yourself back in to self belief – how do you do it?

Leave a Reply

