Posted on

Ouch!!

It is sad, and yet somewhat indicative of the industry in which we work, that last week when I was knocked off my bike, and found myself face up with my glasses smashed and my eye bleeding profusely – that all I could think about was work, how inconvenient my not being there would be for the team, and just how busy a day I had ahead, now likely to miss.

Of course, life goes on. people pick up the slack and no one bats an eye – but I had real difficulty getting over that point. The accident happened two days before a big wedding that I had been working on for months (which thankfully was great and went off without a hitch) and at the time I genuinely had no idea how long it would be before I could go back to work and the list of events that I had to manage for the coming week (that didn’t stop me telling Sarah that if I could have gotten out of the hospital any sooner I would have gone in there and then – and had the doctor not said not to, I probably would have)

And so there I am, and after making an initial call or two to those most nearest and dearest, that I am on the phone, writing an email, and sending whatsapp messages to several colleagues from work, with the one thought in my head that I just want to cover my bases to ensure that people just don’t think I am slacking. Now you could, and may be well within your rights to highlight, that this could actually be the symptom  of a whole different problem, and something that should really be touched on in more depth – a blog post for the future – “Perception and just how horrible a word it is”, but the reality can sometimes be to painfully close to expectation, and with that comes the need to just dust yourself off and get on with it.

I had no choice but to rely on others to help me out, as of course I have, we have – done as a team when any of us needs – but it is an odd feeling of almost embarrassment that can overcome you – having to be away from work like that……whether you are battered and bruised and nursing six stitches, or not….

Event Managers are not machines, and yet both others, and they themselves act in a way that would lead you to believe they are just that. machines though can get faulty, and if they are e not taken care of even more so – it just depends as it always does, on who is pressing your buttons.

Leave a Reply

